Getaway

IMG_2137

Last week I was lucky enough to sneak away from the city for a whole seven days – and our trip to Arizona couldn’t have come at a better time. Though the market season has quieted down somewhat, things have still been quite busy at work. I was feeling really eager for a break throughout the month of October; when November arrived and brought with it unseasonable cold, daylight loss, and car thievery (a story for another time), I was beyond ready to get the heck out of the Big Smoke. It felt soooo good to turn off my phone and fly away to warmth, relaxation, and adventure.

IMG_3243

We hiked around the desert, navigating cactus, loose rock, and (unseen) creatures.

IMG_1918

We drove along the famous Carefree Highway on the way to Vegas, singing along to good ole’ Gord.

IMG_2180

I was treated to a late afternoon drive in a sweet ’69 Camero convertible.

IMG_2034

We looped through Arizona, Nevada, and California on our mini road trip.

IMG_2240

I drank beer by the pool.

IMG_3290

But best of all, I got 7 full days of vacation with this amazing person.

IMG_3283

By the time the return flight came calling for boarding, I felt rested, rejuvenated, and happy to head home. The beautiful lights of T.O. were captivating; I loved seeing her from the sky. I sure didn’t realize that I’d run through the desert in the blazing sun on Monday, only to trudge through several centimetres of snow 48 hours later, but alas, ’tis the way of the North I suppose.

The winter has arrived, and with the cold and snow and added layers, it also has brought flurries of nostalgia. Last winter was a dozy. Forget the ice storm and the incessant shovelling and the perpetual cold – my own self felt frozen last winter. As you may recall if you’ve followed this blog, my posts last season spoke to an unsettled, uncomfortable Lisa. This time around I’m settled, I’m comfortable, and I’m extremely happy. And while this winter season is just getting started (there’s plenty of time for “t-rex”-like storms), I already know that, come what may, this year I will most certainly be warmer.

IMG_2273

xo shades

 

 

 

One thought on “Getaway

Leave a comment